top of page
Search

Horimiya - Episode 3 Thoughts


Backstory & progressions are major points in this episode. Just like the previous episode, this could be broken down into different segments.

 

Miyamura's Backstory

First part of the episode showed some flashbacks of Miyamura when he was in his younger school years - being left out and seen as weird. This is nothing surprising to be honest if he turned out to what he is currently. What I find interesting rather is how, he dealt with it somehow and just accepted it. But man, that piercing looks painful.

Onward, this experience of school task grouping then changed with Hori now in the picture even without their meeting in the previous episodes. Currently, he realized, he is already in a group naturally without even asking for it, thus reflecting, if he can call it friendship. Ishikawa talked with him about it and well, it was affirmed. For some reason, I recalled my personal experiences with this segment. I am actually never part of a group during my college years yet without realizing it, I was in a group all of a sudden without having to blend in. Going back, I guess, left-out Miyamura is not a thing anymore.

 

Hori's Realization


Here comes a new challenger! This is something I have been waiting for - to make Hori be honest with her feelings. In this case, it comes in form of Ayasaki. She asked Hori about her relationship with Miyamura and of course, denied it. But when Ayasaki boldly asked if she could have Miyamura, that is when Hori realized something and strongly objected to what Ayasaki was saying.

Well, if seeing or imagining someone close to you with another person and made you feel uneasy, there is something that needs to be done, right?

Though it was revealed that Ayasaki was just joking, Hori took it seriously without knowing it.

Meanwhile, Ishikawa overheard Ayasaki and a co-student council member talking about this. That could be a nail to the coffin for his feelings towards Hori.

"Press F in the chat boys!"


Despite of that, Ishikawa turned to Miyamura to let him know about Hori. Miyamura did not want to assume things, which I would agree. Ishikawa being stubborn, he wants to force the issue and ends up getting beaten up unintentionally. Quite silly but hey, it is self-defense, alright?


The next day, they explained to Hori and Yoshikawa separately, what happened, though not completely with Ishikawa because he is talking with Hori of course, and their argument stemmed from a topic about her. Meanwhile, Miyamura, I could guess he explained everything to Yoshikawa. That teasing smirk says it.

The next episode will probably start with their apologies.

 

Holding Hands

Ok, was this a mutual confession? Or some translation error as I read on MAL forum episode discussion? I will ask someone for reference later.


Anyway, if this is a mutual confession, I could say, this is happening a bit fast for me. Why? Because we still have to see Miyamura's realization of his feelings yet towards Hori. I know, there are some moments that could lead to this but it is not that convincing for this to happen. For Hori's side, it was already implied since last episode and affirmed with her response to Ayasaki's joke so if this is her way of confessing, well, I will take that gladly. She even took the initiative. Goes to show, how she feel threatened with Ayasaki, I think.


But if in case this is just mistranslated, considering Miyamura's social awkwardness, I guess they are not yet a couple, and just some brief moments of getting close towards each other.

Furthermore, the sequence of events shown was a bit confusing.

First, the scene in the canteen with Hori & Ayasaki. Then right after comes the holding hands in Hori's house. Followed by Ishikawa overhearing things about Hori, then the argument between him and Miyamura in which, Miyamura did not believe what Ishikawa said about Hori's feeling towards Miyamura. Therefore, Miyamura probably did not recognize Hori's feelings yet and just being oblivious about it in this scene.


If you have noticed, I arranged the summary in a different way compared to the sequence in the episode. This made more sense to me in this way, so I hope this is not confusing for you.


Overall, still a decent episode with light-hearted moments. The OP is seriously growing in me. Hope I could find it in Spotify.


What do you think about this episode? Was the pace too fast for you or just fine? Please share you comment as well.


Thanks for the visit and keep safe!


P.S. Am I the only one who have seen this "guy" somewhere? :D

Also, no manga spoilers please. Thanks!

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page